Institute of Journalists Malaysia

Home » News » Board of Governors 2014

Board of Governors 2014

At the inaugural Annual General Meeting of the Institute of Journalists Malaysia, held at Commonwealth House, Kuala Lumpur, on 26th September 2014, members elected the first Board of Governors. They are:

Newspaper journalists:
Lim Huiying , Tashny Sukumaran
(Alternate member: Esther Chandran)

Broadcasting journalists:
Amirul Ruslan , Leong Hon Yuen
(Alternate member: vacant)

Online journalists:
Boo Su-Lyn , Joseph Sipalan
(Alternate member: Alyaa Alhadjhri)

Periodicals, freelance and other journalists:
Teoh El Sen – (nominated from the floor to fill vacant uncontest position)
(Alternate member: Michelle Tam – nominated from the floor)

Honorary Auditor
Michelle Tam

In accordance with the constitution of the Institute of Journalists Malaysia, one-third of the Board will retire after the first year, another one-third after the second year, and the remaining members will serve the full term of three years.

Members of the Board who retire from the inaugural Board in the first year and second year may offer themselves for re-election.


Have your say

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Become a member

Who can be members of IoJ

Membership is open to journalists at all levels from reporter or artist to editors-in-chief; that generally includes: reporters, subeditors, photographers, editorial illustrators and cartoonists, producers and presenters in broadcasting, photographers and videographers, whether employed full time, on contract, or who freelance, and whose work is published in:
* newspapers * magazines * radio or television stations * *online newspapers * web sites * news agencies * house journals * trade newsletters
Ordinary:   — those whose main source of income is derived from editorial journalistic work, whether in reporting, writing, editing, photography or videography, or editorial illustrations or editorial cartoons.
Freelance: — those who work full-time as a journalist but are not employed by any organisation
— those employed in other occupations but who produce journalism on an occasional basis, e.g. as citizen journalists, bloggers and videographers.
— academic staff whose area of study is journalism, the media, or related fields.
— those who work in fields related to journalism, such as public relations, advertising, and marketing;
— anyone who supports the aims of the Institute and the cause of free press and free speech generally.
Student: — those enrolled in full-time studies in journalism or related fields at a college or university.
Corporate: — organisations who support the aims of the Institute and the cause of free and independent journalism, freedom of the press and freedom of expression.
Affiliate: — other organisations whose members are journalists or whose activities concern journalism, the mass media, freedom of the press, freedom of expression, human rights and democracy

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.